More Kenwood Road constructions

So I did a bit more work on Kenwood Road this evening, trying to solve (or at least mitigate the angled road problem I talked about earlier.

First of all, here was how things looked on my first try, where I was just using the default in-game jogs in the road

Pretty crappy, huh?

Then I figured out about the FAP (Fractional Angle Project), which has S-curves, which allow for slight (1 tile) jogs, as well as 18.4 degree angled roads, which let you go over 2 tiles for 8 tiles height. So I used a few of those, plus added some more touchups using the TULeP turning lane mods.

Here’s a closeup of Kenwood Road looking northbound as Dawson Road comes in from the east. The street that is coming in from the west is the entrance to Kenwood Country Club.

I haven’t quite figured out how (or if it’s possible) to connect streets to the TULeP pieces, or get rid of / adjust traffic lights for intersections. For instance, in this example, the country club has no traffic light and the intersection at Dawson only has a flashing yellow light, rather than a full stoplight. Astute viewers will also notice that there’s a bit of a weirdness where the left turn lane on to Dawson starts.

I’m trying to remind myself to be patient and not spend hours and hours on one little section. I figure there is plenty of time, and probably more important things to get right. I can always come back to touch this stuff up, especially considering that I don’t really know what I’m doing or what all tools are available to me.

I think it looks much better, don’t you?

This entry was posted in Madeira and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment