South Madeira

Okay so my next steps were to try and tie in some of the side streets off of Kenwood Road. I’m still trying to figure out exactly how the best way is to simulate these things.

Here’s what I’ve been doing

1. First, I use the config.bmp I created a few months ago. On that, I have each city square (4×4, 2×2 or 1×1), and the latitude and longitude borders of each square.
2. So based on that, I created an Excel spreadsheet, with a few formulas in it. I have the borders for each city in my region, so I can put in a latitude (in either decimal format like Google Maps or the minutes and seconds from an atlas), and it will tell me how many pixels from the top / bottom / left / right edges of the city.
3. So then usually I go to Google Maps, and mouse over a road intersection. That tells me what square that should be in SC4, and I put a sign or other indicator there. I do that a few times, and then that tells me where the road needs to be.

So here’s where that has led (compare to the real area)

I’m not entirely pleased. After taking a bit of a break to think about it, I decided that I should probably be less concerned about “to the tile” accuracy. Sure it’s important to get things pretty close, and any inaccuracies that I introduce have the risk of compounding. What I mean by that is if I put a road 1 tile too far to the east, then that means that its intersecting roads have to be 1 tile to the east, and then maybe an intersection of THAT road is 2 tiles too far to the east, etc., etc.

But I think where I’m at now is that I’ll try to get each of the neighbor connections accurate to the tile (as much as possible), and then be a bit more flexible within a particular city, focusing more on making things look nicer, with straighter roads, etc.

I also decided that since this is a part of town that I “care” more about, I’ll put it on hold for now until I know more of what I’m doing. Stay tuned for where I’m going next!!!

This entry was posted in Madeira, map and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to South Madeira

  1. Pingback: Madisonville Neighbor Connections | Recreating Cincinnati in SimCity 4

Leave a comment